CCIE Lab Preparation

Just another CCIE blog

  • Category

  • Archives

IP Expert Mock Lab 2

Posted by Jo on September 6, 2008

This morning I did Mock Lab 2 from Volume III of the BLS. I started at 5am this morning, so it was a good test to see if I could get my brain into gear at such an early hour! My session started at 5am, and by the time I had loaded the configs for the devices it was 5.15, so I cracked on with my L2 diagram and read through the lab. I dont usually draw out the L3 diagram, as If its good enough for me to understand to draw it in my own style, its probably good enough for me to use during the lab – I dont scribble much on the L3 diagram anyway. I do draw out BGP most of the time when I get to that section and occasionally multicast when needs be.

I ended up with 71 which I was happy with. I actually think I should have got a few more points, as I missed out do the the script not looking for what I had specifically configured. I actually graded this lab twice, the first time I had lots of missed points in the IGP section. I checked the output and it said that one of the BB routes was not pinging (192.168.25.2), so I quickly jumped onto the rack and tested it out – it worked fine! So I just ran the script again and this time it came back as working and I got the points.

I lost some points on the following sections due to the grading script.

6.3 DHCP – My output didnt match the expected output, but the functionality is the same. I didnt think extra config would be marked down. Check out the code below and tell me if you agree: OK now I see it. I excluded 142.42.27.127 in the range – the task is setting up R2 to serve half of the DHCP scope, so adding this means that this address wont be given out. I excluded it because its the broadcast address of the /25 subnet, but this scope was for the whole /24 subnet.

Begin Section 6.3 Testing

R2#show run | section dhcp
no ip dhcp use vrf connected
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.0
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.27
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.7
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.2
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.127 <— SCHOOLBOY ERROR
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.128 142.42.27.255
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.35
ip dhcp pool VLAN27
network 142.42.27.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 142.42.27.27
R2#
R2#

R2 Section 6.3 is not Correct
>Expected:
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.2
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.7
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.27
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.35
ip dhcp excluded-address 142.42.27.128 142.42.27.254
ip dhcp pool <NAME>
network 142.42.27.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 142.42.27.27

8.1 QoS – I applied the rate-limit command to the interface, but it looks like the script was looking for int s0/1/0.1 and I had s0/1/0.256 configured as my sub-int number.

Begin R5 Section 8.1 Testing

R5#show run int Ser0/1/0.1 | incl point|rate
^
% Invalid input detected at ‘^’ marker.

R5#

R5 Section 8.1 is not Correct
Expected:
interface Serial0/1/0.1
rate-limit input access-group <access-list> 16000 <number> <number> conform-action transmit exceed-action drop

I also missed out on some EIGRP and OSPF points, as one of the tasks stated that a router should only receive routes with a third octet between 25-45. I understood this to mean including 25 and 45, but this wasnt the case. I guess I would need to get clarification from the proctor on this in future. My OSPF solution used nssa no-summary to get a default route into area 27 – this was marked as incorrect by the script as they used area 27 nssa default-information originate to generate the default route.

All in all I was quite happy during this lab. I still suck at Multicast, but Im going to be working on that.

2 Responses to “IP Expert Mock Lab 2”

  1. fivedigits said

    As I understand it from one of my colleagues who has taken the exam, a lot of tasks not only ask for a certain outcome but also to accomplish it with as little configuration as possible. Don’t know if this mock lab uses that verbiage but that might be why it dinged you.

  2. ccielab said

    I dont think that was the case in this particular lab. Its fair to say that I messed up the DHCP task on this one – I see the mistake now, and out some additional text in the post. As for the others I will watch the Video Breakdown of this lab and see what they say about it on there.

Leave a Reply

 
