CCIE Lab Preparation

Just another CCIE blog

  • Category

  • Archives

Dynamips and IEWB Volume I

Posted by Jo on December 28, 2007

I am slowly getting back onto the bandwagon and will start my preparations up again in the next few days. I have shifted my Lab date from February out to July, so this is now my new target.

I have set up the InternetworkExpert Dynamips topology on my Mac (it runs all 13 routers at about 30%) so will be using this for the foreseeable future. I have also got access to the InternetworkExpert Dynamips workbooks, so will make a start on these. One of my problems with rack rentals was that I was running out of time in my 4 hour sessions, so at least with Dynamips I should be able to work for longer, and also pick up labs when I have time.

To start back up again I am planning to go through the IEWB Volume I technologies as a refresher, as I found I was relying on the solutions guide whilst working through the Volume II labs. Now that I have a bit more time until my first date I plan to spend a couple of months going through the Volume I stuff.

2 Responses to “Dynamips and IEWB Volume I”

  1. Rico said

    What configuration are you using to do the IE Dynamips Vol 1 Tech Labs? Does the same topology that works for Vol 2 work for the tech labs

  2. ccielab said

    I used the IE .net topology that they use for Vol II, from this its possible the create all of the logical network topologies in Vol I. There are a few instances that you have to use different interfaces, but its nothing too much to figure out.

    One of the ones that springs to mind is the Multicast labs – the e0/0 and e0/1 interfaces need to be swapped over.

Leave a Reply

 
