CCIE Lab Preparation

Just another CCIE blog

  • Category

  • Archives

IEWBv4 Lab 7 – Core Tasks

Posted by Jo on October 20, 2007

This morning I made a start on Lab 7 – this has been classified as level 9 difficulty by the IE guys so I wasnt expecting an easy ride.

I did make good progress though on the layer 2 sections, and had completed Bridging and Switching and Frame-Relay ahead of my schedule. I have read in various places that you should aim to get 15 points per hour and I was way ahead of this. I have so far been good at interpreting the requirements for trunk interfaces and Etherchannel configurations as they have been presented. I miss the odd VLAN out sometimes, so have to make sure I check the diagram and also the information that is presented in the workbook questions.

There was a question on dot1q tunnelling, which I have come across before, so was able to work it out. The main thing to remember is to check the system mtu is set to 1504. The basic steps to enable a dot1q tunnel between 2 ports is as follows:

First check the system mtu size

system mtu 1504 ! switch will need a reload after this is applied if it was not set to 1504

int f0/4
switchport access vlan 100
switchport mode dot1q-tunnel
l2protocol-tunnel cdp

int f0/9
switchport access vlan 100
switchport mode dot1q-tunnel
l2protocol-tunnel cdp

Other questions in this lab that I am making a note of for future reference are:

End-to-End keepalives for frame relay – create a map-class for each DLCI and apply it under the frame-relay interface-dlci command

PPPoFR – specify a virtual-template interface with the frame-relay interface-dlci xxx ppp Virtual-Template1 comamnd, and configure IP and authentication under the Virtual-Template interface

I also did OK on the most of the IGP setup, but there were a couple of strange things going on that I had to spend time working through. A requirement of this lab was to set up OSPF between neighbours but not using multicast to establish neighbour relationships. This made clear that the ip opsf network type needed to be NON_BROADCAST on these links with manual neighbors specified within the OSPF process. I set these up as I thought was correct, neighbour relationships didnt come up until I went back into the OSPF process and re-issued the neighbor statements. So I probably wasted 10-15 minutes or so on this task.

There were a few tasks based around route summarisation between area’s. I checked through the solutions guide on a couple of these but felt quite comfortable with the concepts, so need to keep an eye out for these in future.

If a task asked to see the subnet’s of loopback interfaces as /24 but disallows the use of any ip ospf interface level commands then this means you have to redistribute them into OSPF (always a good idea to use a route-map here). If you were allowed to use an ip ospf interface level command, you can set the loopback interface to the POINT_TO_POINT network type with will then show as /24 in the routing table.

I still have the redistribution task to do for this lab, as I had to call my session short by 20 minutes (not that I would have done it in 20 minutes!). I have had a look through the solutions guide, and have to say it looks to be quite complicated so I will attempt it tomorrow after some more reading.

All in all I was happy with my early progress in this lab. I was very comfortable with most of the L2 sections and setting up the basic IGP and made good time here, but I think I have to concentrate more on the redistribution and summarisation tasks.

Leave a Reply

 
